It Happens

Since I left my full time job, I had been doing some (very) part time work for a website, a little editing, a little writing, a little mailing list management. It was easy to do and I brought in about $350 a month. That little bit helped us transition between two incomes to one, which happened sooner than we thought it would.

I saw this coming for awhile and just last week, I told Thomas that I thought it was only a matter of time before I was laid off. And so it happened. I have a bit more work for January but that will be the end of that.

I am thankful for the work, especially when I was so sick during my pregnancy. Working from home, on my own schedule was truly wonderful. The extra money helped us work through a new, much smaller budget at the same time as we struggled with the new costs of home ownership.

The small income will be hard to replace, at least in the short term. The baby will be here in a few weeks. When we are ready for me to work again, it will have to be at a time when Thomas can be with the baby (it would be pointless to work part time and pay for childcare) and his schedule is erratic and can change without much notice.

I’m nervously adjusting to the news. Like I said, I did see this coming. I was hoping it wouldn’t happen so soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Times of Trouble

Leave a Reply

