Shepherd’s Pie

This is beyond easy to make. I was intimated by Shepherd’s Pie recipes in the past, so many steps, so much chopping, fancy lamb cuts. I’m way too lazy. And I think shepherds may be, too. So one day, I used leftovers and made this super easy Shepherd’s Pie. If you buy vegetables and beef on sale like I do, it is also quite frugal.

Canadian Home Shepherd’s Pie

Put 6 or 8 chopped potatoes on to boil. Sometimes I peel the potatoes, sometimes I don’t. It depends on the fancy-ness and the attrativeness of the potato. Don’t over-think it.

Saute a medium onion in a wee bit of olive oil. Add beef, about a pound or so, and brown. Drain fat. Add a generous round or two of worchester sauce, I’d guess 2 or 3 tablespoons. Last time we had this, I added some dried rosemary to the beef and it was tasty.

Spread beef into bottom of casserole dish. Add two or three cups of frozen vegetables (no need to pre-cook or thaw) – carrots, peas and corn and mix it in with the beef. Last time, I only had corn and green beans and it worked just dandy.

When potatoes are tender, drain and add milk or cream and butter (or your favourite mashed potato add-ins) and mash it up. If you’re clever, you might make extra potatoes the night before and use your leftovers. Spread potatoes over beef. Put in 375 degree oven for 30 minutes-ish.

Serve it up with salad and bread. Mmm-mmm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food & Meal Planning

Leave a Reply

