Freezer Cooking

This is a necessary kick in the pants for me. I have a small freezer and use a good portion of it for vegetables and two loaves of bread each month. I wanted a week or ten days of dinners ready for post-baby and made a good start. I bought some chicken thighs on sale and made some dinners (some in a tomato sauce and others were in a spinach, mushroom and rice dish), which will be easy to heat up and side with the vegetables.

Then we got caught up in unpacking and I went into denial, apparently and thought I had all the time in the world. Life As Mom’s Freezer Cooking Day came at the right time.

My plan (hope) for this weekend is to cook and freeze the following:

  • Apple crisp (two for family desserts and some mini crisps for a quick and tasty individual breakfasts)
  • Chicken coconut curry (at least two meals)
  • Prepare chicken stock

It’s not much but it will get me through some days and I think it will fill what space I have in my freezer. What are you freezing this weekend?

2 Comments

Filed under Food & Meal Planning

2 responses to “Freezer Cooking

  1. Freezer Cooking Day — this is brilliant! Thank you for sharing the link 🙂 I used to do that before I had my daughter but haven’t had much time latey now that she is nearing 2 yrs old.

    Looking forward to hearing more about your mommy adventures and living on less. Story of my life at the moment (and probably for the next few years ;))

  2. Sounds like a great start! 🙂

    I just made a big pot of chicken stew, enough for 4 meals but it’s not for us, it’s goes to my grandmother in law who isn’t supposed to cook… So this helps her out! I’m also going to make some blueberry lemon bread tonight, a loaf for us, and a loaf for gma. But rest assured, ours won’t last nearly long enough to be froze… lol!

    We only have the freezer on the top of the fridge & it is jam packed… So no more freezer cooking for me till there’s room! Ideally I’d love to have 4 BIG freezer meals in there at once.. we’re a family of 6, so need big meals. lol!

    Stay warm!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

