Freezer Cooking With Nothing

Due to our budget break-down, I couldn’t do the cooking I wanted for the freezer. I did manage to scrape together some ideas and was still able to put a few things away.

I had the ingredients for my Maple Apple Crisps, so I made 4 family size (four serving) and 4 individual sized in some meat pie tins that I had saved. This is about the easiest dessert in the world but here’s how I make mine:

Peel and slice apples and fill casserole dish, tin pan, whatever you’ve got. Drizzle with maple syrup (the real stuff or really, why bother?). My “crisp” is equal parts oats and brown sugar, enough to cover the apples well (it works out to be about a cup of each per pound of apples). Mix in a reasonable amount of cinnamon. Add about 1/2 cup of cut up butter to the mix, give or take, depending on the size of your dish. Sprinkle mix over apples and bake at 350 for 30 or 40 minutes, until the top is crusty and brown. It is very sweet so I like to serve it with non-sweetened whipped cream and blueberries.

To make up for my lack of other freezable meals, I looked about to see what I had that I could make do. We had roast chicken this weekend so I made a decent sized pot of chicken stock, added potatoes, carrots, herbs and some left over chicken. We had the soup for dinner, I saved enough for a second night and still had 3 meals of soup to freeze.

I’m pleased that I got something in the freezer, despite our scrimping this month. Actually, I enjoyed the challenge!

3 Comments

Filed under Food & Meal Planning

3 responses to “Freezer Cooking With Nothing

  1. That apple crisp looks so yummy!

  2. Yum!!! Looks so good! I agree on the *REAL* maple syrup… go big or go home! 😉 lol!!

  3. I’m saving your apple crisp recipe for the fall – hope the apple picking season is good. Yours looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

