Routine

I’m not saying the moms on the Birth Month message board are liars, but I feel better thinking they are bending the truth when they talk about how long their babies are sleeping during the night. Because if Adam is the only baby that has only slept a stretch of only four hours once while babies elsewhere are (apparently) sleeping eight, nine or TWELVE hours, I don’t think I could keep going.

I thought I would wait until he was three months old before trying to get into a bedtime routine (as every book, article and experienced mom will tell you, “routine” is the magical cure for all things baby), but after the last few days of walking around in a daze, I thought I’d give it a try.

I think I started him too early tonight. He was nursing at 7:00 p.m. and I put him back at the breast twice more after he stopped to look at more interesting things. I swaddled him (which has been working well for us at getting him to sleep) and let him suck my finger (let’s not even go there… one thing at a time) while I read to him. He was calm and happy but after reading To Kill A Mockingbird for an hour with nary a drooping eyelid, I changed him and brought him back downstairs. Five minutes in a bouncy chair and he was out.

By this time, it was 8:15 so maybe putting him in the crib at 8:00 will work better. An hour later, he’s still sound asleep in his crib, even without swaddling. I expect he’ll wake up around 11:00 or so. I’m planning another big feed and hopefully – God willing – he won’t wake up every hour until 3:00 a.m. as his habit has been.

Wish us luck!

Update 9:30 p.m.: Ha ha. An hour later, he woke up and while he didn’t cry, seemed very put out by being in his crib at such an early hour. I changed him, swaddled him and laid him back down and let him suck my finger back to sleep.

It’s still good! … Right?

Update 10:45 p.m.: Still asleep! He’s unravelled his swaddling but still snoozing rather soundly.

4 Comments

Filed under Baby

4 responses to “Routine

  1. I wish I knew what to tell you, except that every baby is different… my nephew was a great sleeper, sleeping through the night almost right away, and my niece was the exact opposite. Took forever for her to get into a good routine. It was like she hated being away from people. She could sleep just fine in her bouncer in the living room or kitchen where everyone was hanging out and talking, but as soon as you put her in he quiet nursery, she woke up.

    Sending prayers for rest; patience, and strength for you. I don’t imagine it’s easy.

    • Canadian Home

      Thank you! It’s not that I don’t enjoy his company but I think some brain cells are dying.

      Babies really are a puzzle!

  2. I’m a firm believer in doing whatever you need to do to make things work. Good luck working out a sleep pattern.

  3. My dirty little secret: I always hated the mothers that told me their baby slept for 8-12 hrs… *blush* 😉 LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

