Teething

Oh, dear.

For the last two weeks or so, Adam has been drooling a lot and gnawing on his hands. I thought it might be teething but I convinced myself otherwise. Babies drool, right? He just found his hands, he’s enjoying the taste. He’s only 10 weeks old for Pete’s sake.

Then I felt a little scraping when he nursed. And then there were tiny scratch marks. And yesterday, he started a low grade fever and some general crabbiness. Then he started having trouble nursing – this from the baby who has never turned down a good meal. Sure enough, there’s two tiny white pin-heads just under the surface of his gums. He’s now 11 weeks old.

The poor guy desperately wants to chew but when he can convince his hands to keep a washcloth or a teething ring in his mouth, his tongue thrust reflex kicks in and pushes out whatever he’s trying to chew on. He’s tired and frustrated.

I’ve been rubbing his gums, which he enjoys and helping him chew on a washcloth, but it makes getting anything else done (like doing the dishes or vaccuuming or oh, I don’t know, using the washroom) darn near impossible. We have some gel to rub on his gums but I’m hesistant to use it. I’ve been giving him Tylenol for the fever and it helps him sleep. Any other ideas for an early teether?

4 Comments

Filed under Baby

4 responses to “Teething

  1. Poor little guy… and poor you! I don’t know if it might help, but my sister would give the kids chunks of carrot to gnaw on. I don’t know if he’d be able to hold on to a carrot yet, but the cold and hard seemed to help a little.

    Congrats on your weight loss… that’s awesome!

  2. Canadian Home

    At the rate he’s going, I think he’ll have all his teeth before we get a chance to start him on solids. That’s what’s so frustrating – if his teeth came in on the usual timeline, the whole chewing carrots, frozen waffles, what-have-you, would work for us. Though, if he IS still teething by the time we get to solids, I like the carrot idea. Good for teething and nutritious!

    And thanks! I think breast feeding has more to do with my weight loss than anything else, but who cares!

  3. Wow, that’s really early. The nice thing is that the teeth should make transitioning to solids easier.

  4. Hmmmm I don’t have much advice to give as Hannah didn’t do so well with any of those things too – teether, wet washcloth, teething toys etc. I just let her chew on her hands and gave her Tempra when her temp got high. I never tried the gels because I was too afraid that her mouth would go numb and make her freak out even more.

    What about those mesh feeders? They are used for kids who are starting on solid food but you can fill it with a wet washcloth and just hold it in place for him to gnaw on. Poor Adam! I didn’t get much done either when H started teething because she wanted to be held constantly. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

