Happy Homemaker #18

I’m feeling un-Canadian:
I really couldn’t care less about who won The Hockey Game. An aside: I went to a very athlete-centric high school and was the least athletic person alive. One morning while listening to the never-ending announcements about sport scores and the physical triumphs of my fellow students, my homeroom teacher, an arts instructor, ranted that she was going to lock herself inside the office with the intercom and slowly describe a painting in retaliation for having to endure the athletic news ad nauseum. Ha!

One of my simple pleasures:
Weeding the herb garden and watching it grow.

On my bedside table:
Charlie et la Chocolaterie. Or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I was educated in French for both elementary and high school… and haven’t used it since. I like to read a book or listen to the radio in French now and then, just to remind myself that I do have a second language.

On the menu for tonight:

We’re going into a very lean period, money-wise. I’m going to have to get very creative about meals.

On my To-Do List:

Tidy, tidy, tidy.

Bargoon(s) of the week:

Stouffer’s Saute Sensations. Regular price: $6.99. On sale: $4.99. Two $4.00 coupons = two meals for 99 cents each!

Looking forward to:
Meeting our new neighbours! The house on our left was occupied by some sketchy renters when we first moved in. They trashed the place and were kicked out. The house was converted back into a single-family home and went up for sale. We hoped and prayed that it wouldn’t go back to a rental. It didn’t! A young couple has moved in. Thank goodness!

Not looking forward to:

Adam’s 4-month shots tomorrow. Good for fighting rubella! Bad for baby’s mood.

Something new this week:

So much to be thankful for! Our vegetable garden is planted and growing. The weather is beautiful. New neighbours. Adam’s bottom teeth are FINALLY coming in. So much to be thankful for.

1 Comment

Filed under Homemaker Monday

One response to “Happy Homemaker #18

  1. I’m going to have to start taking lessons from you on bargain hunting… two meals for 99 cents each?!? that rocks!

    I’m not into the hockey stuff either. The olympics… ok. 10 months of nhl… not so cool.

Leave a Reply

