Updates on Various Disasters

With the help of my dad and his many, many copies of computer programs, Thomas seems to have fixed his computer. He can’t get it to connect to our wireless Internet connection, but the computer seems to be running well. Thank goodness.

* * * * *

I received a letter from the federal government concerning my Child Care Benefit – it was their “pleasure to inform” me that I had been bestowed with this gift. I’m confident I’ll received a letter from the provincial government about the Child Tax Benefit soon. It seems someone realized I had sent the right information and filed the application. At any rate, I’ll squirrel away my letters in case it comes back to bite me in the rear.

* * * * *

The $250 Grocery Challenge is going well. I’ve been flexible with the list when I found a cheaper way to make a meal than I had planned or switched to another meal when I found a good sale. I’ve managed to buy some snack foods as we go, which seems to be working, too.

We’re having dinner guests on Saturday, so I’m trying to plan a frugal but nice meal for them. I would ask for suggestions but one of the guests has many, many food sensitivities/intolerances/allergies and any menu anyone could suggest is bound to have something she can’t eat. My plan is to prepare ingredients for a salad (lettuce, spinach, chicken, cheese, avocado, red onions, cucumbers, etc. etc.) and have everyone arrange their own. It won’t be a particularly filling meal, but I struggled to come up with this. If you have suggestions for the salad, please let me know!

* * * * *

Thomas’ first Father’s Day was busy for him with church services and other functions to attend, but we had dinner together and I made a rhubarb pie for him. Rhubarb pie (and just rhubarb, thank you very much) is his favourite pie, but I have terrible luck with baking and even worse luck with pie. I found this recipe and bought a pie crust and it turned out well. Maybe next year I’ll be brave enough to try my own crust.

* * * * *

Thomas topped up the fluids in the car and she seems to be somewhat satisfied. It will need to be replaced soon-ish, but at least Thomas is unlikely to be stranded somewhere anytime soon. I hope.

* * * * *

Adam’s sleep (or lack thereof) is running me down. He’s also super cranky, which I suppose goes hand in hand with crappy sleep. His eczema is getting worse and his teething is coming to a head – poor guy. I wish I could do more for him.

* * * * *

So much more, but I don’t want to relive this day – and it’s only 11:00 a.m.! Sigh.

3 Comments

Filed under Food & Meal Planning, Frugal Living, Holidays, Times of Trouble

3 responses to “Updates on Various Disasters

  1. Oy… well, I’m glad that you got the paperwork you need to cover your backside with the CTB. And I’m super glad that the car is hanging in there. Rhubarb pie? without strawberries? Not sure about that. Good luck with the dinner… I know that it’s hard to cook for someone with extreme food issues. I had a friend in college who was allergic to (not just intolerant) seafood, dairy, nuts, and ‘blue’ foods (purple cabbage, grapes, blueberries, raisins, etc). About the only major allergy he didn’t have was gluten.

  2. Sounds like you have a lot going on.. but with a baby, that’s the way it goes I guess! Glad you’ll be getting the CTB, that’ll definitely help!!

    I have a tonne of food allergies, chicken, dairy, wheat/gluten, soy, tree nuts, peanuts. Have you asked her what allergies she has? If you can find that out, I can give you suggestions from there if you like.. 🙂 Good luck!

  3. Canadian Home

    These are the problem foods (that I know of): eggs, nuts, potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, corn, wheat, alcohol, yeast, msg, sulfites, coffee, chocolate, beef, bananas and dairy.

    My salad choices so far: spinach, lettuce, chicken (cooked with olive oil, salt and pepper), avocado, red onion, goat cheese (for the rest of us, if she can’t eat it), cucumbers.

    She’s bringing dessert – thank goodness! I had no idea what to make without using chocolate or wheat. I’m assuming with a list of allergies like this that berries are probably a no-go, too.

Leave a Reply

