Christmas Shopping

Bookcloseouts.com has an awesome fiction sale right now – $1.99 for soft covers, $2.99 for hard covers, so last week I spent some time browsing and picking out some Christmas presents. Something weird happened in my shopping cart, though and I ended up ordering one book twice and not getting another book I wanted, but as they were $2 each, I’ll shift around the presents and make it work.

I also bought this for Adam:

From the jacket description: Told in a few lines of text, the tender story Waiting for Mama was first published in a newspaper in 1938. With its universal theme and authentic illustrations, this bilingual edition will touch the heart. A small child waits for Mama at the streetcar station. It is cold and snowy, but the child waits patiently until finally Mama comes. In the last wordless spread, we see the child’s small hand in his mother’s firm grasp as they walk away from us.

Sweetest book ever.

I want desperately to keep Christmas simple for Adam. I don’t think I have to explain this – any parent today knows how overwhelming gift giving and toy collecting/hoarding can be. You’d think that knowing we live in a very small house would be ample practical reasoning for keeping the gifts low-key. Apparently not. At Easter, we were visiting my sister-in-law when my dad told me they had a gift for Adam in the back of their SUV.

My Dad

Come take a look at it. If it doesn’t fit in your car, we’ll bring it up with us next time.

Me (silently, to myself)

If it doesn’t fit in our car? We drive a STATION WAGON. What did you get him?

Anyhoo, if you haven’t tried Bookcloseouts.com, the Summer Fiction sale is worth a look. The shipping is reasonable and they ship from Thorold, Ontario so there’s no duty charge.

Have you started your Christmas shopping yet?

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Holidays

2 responses to “Christmas Shopping

  1. That looks like a really sweet book! I haven’t started my shopping yet, but I’m planning on it soon actually. I want to have it done and wrapped by the time my mat leave starts because I don’t want that hanging over my head when I need to be prepping for the baby. Just a heads up… my company (you know, the big book company that I work for 😉 ) is going to be having it’s annual bargain sale starting on July 5th (I think). So all those really good deals in the “bargain” area are going to have even better prices. It might be worth checking out your local Cha.pters or In.digo.

    I get the thing about wanting to keep Christmas low key… I don’t really know how my parents are going to respond, but we really don’t have a lot of room here for big toys. Heck I’m still trying to figure out where we’ll keep the stroller when it’s not in use.

  2. Canadian Home

    Thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely look for this sale.

Leave a Reply

