Sleep, Baby, Sleep Update and Bargoons

After I had logged Adam’s sleep for two weeks and saw the horrific details of how often he woke up, I stopped watching the clock. It was a good thing to see his sleep for what it was and it went a long way in helping realize that I was justified in being so tired. Most nights I would have guessed that I woke up 3 or 4 times, but while keeping a log I realized it was more like 6 or 8 times. I also saw that he was waking to eat every 3 hours or so and the other times he woke, he just wanted to be comforted.

But after two weeks, I had to stop watching the clock. It was awful knowing how long he was up some nights, watching the minutes tick by. For a few days I let him nap whenever the mood came upon him – no matter if it had been an hour since his last nap or four hours – I watched for the sleepy signs and put him to bed, schedules be damned. Well, golly-gee, after a few days, he put himself on a regular nap schedule of 9:00, noon and 3:00. The times vary slightly, but not much and he goes down for a nap happy and quicker now.

Nights are slowly getting better. He woke up every 2.5 to 3 hours last night and always to eat. The longer he sleeps, the longer he’s awake when he does wake. But I’m trying to keep the lights low, the voices soft and the atmosphere exceptionally boring and hoping that we can work on a more seamless night. I’m also giving him plenty of time to try asleep on his own using a comfort item. It means a lot of time sitting nearby but out of sight. It’s a good way to get a lot of reading in and I’ve read two books this week – The Boy in the Moon and Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America.

* * * * *

Part of my Sleep Action Plan (SAP, if you will) is keeping both Adam and I busy. Adam, to wear him out and me, to keep me awake during the day. The library, the Early Years Centre, the park, ANYTHING. Including the local Sally Ann Thrift Store, where I found this brand new jacket for Adam:

… for 99 cents! The size is 24 months so it should be perfect for the fall (he’s wearing 12 month sizes now). Another bargoon hunting adventure took us to Shoppers Drug Mart:

  • Coppertone Baby Sun Screen $7.99 – regular price $13.99 (While I prefer not to use sun screen on Adam, I know that sometime this summer or next we’ll be out and about. I dug around in the back of the display until I found a bottle that didn’t expire until September 2011. Woot!)
  • 4 litres of milk $1.79 – regular price $3.79 (The best before date is in a few days but I’ll put in the freezer and use it for baking because we don’t drink 2% anyway.)
  • box of crackers $0.69 – regular price $2.69
  • 2 sticks of deodorant for $0.99 each (Clearance rack! Good timing as I’m nearly out of deodorant and I refuse to pay more than $2 for something I wipe on my underarms.)
  • Heavenly Hash ice cream $2.99 – regular price $5.49 (Yummy dessert for Thomas and me!)
1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Frugal Living, Library Finds

One response to “Sleep, Baby, Sleep Update and Bargoons

  1. Its sooo tough when your kids don’t sleep! My kids are all older and i’m still averaging about 4-5 hrs a night. *sigh* Such is life….

    I love the jacket you found, and for $.99! Sweet deal!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

