Death and Taxes

Today was municipal elections in our neck of the woods and though I had dreams of introducing my son to his fortunate circumstances of being born in the free world and the responsibility of civic duty, this year was possibly the lamest election ever. The mayor and counsillors all ran unchallenged in our town and ward, so the only position left to decide were school trustees.

In Canada, your property taxes fund (in part) the school system. When you pay your property tax, you choose which school board to support: public or Catholic, French or English. It never mattered to me and I think the default must be English public (which would be the schools most children attend). As I voted for a school trustee, it struck me as absurd for two reasons: a) we plan to homeschool and b) if I ever sent my child to school, I doubt it would be an English public school – in fact, it would probably be a French Catholic school.

At any rate, it was the lamest election ever and I’m not going to stay up all night waiting for these results to trickle in.

This afternoon, Adam and I got in the car to find somewhere different to take our afternoon stroll and ended up at a cemetery one community over.

And finally, from the mother who just can’t let things go:

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Homeschooling

2 responses to “Death and Taxes

  1. I am ashamed to admit that neither of us voted in our recent civic election. There were just exactly the number of candidates running for the open positions, and the mayor was running unopposed. Didn’t seem to be much of a point.

    That’s an interesting collection from the cemetary… especially that last one.

  2. Canadian Home

    It was the same in our area. The ONLY thing on my ballot was school trustee. It was very pointless. I was taking the baby for a walk anyway. I don’t know if I would have made the effort otherwise.

Leave a Reply

