Baby Dhal

Adam had some Papa-time yesterday, so I started another round of baby food for the freezer. Some meals he’s more willing to deal with texture than other meals, but for the most part he’s open to flavours. With this in mind and hoping to introduce him early to the flavours that dominate a lot of my cooking, I made him a batch of dhal.

Canadian Home Baby Dhal

1 cup red lentils
2 cups water
1 bayleaf
1/2 small onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, sliced or minced (or less – I love garlic, though)
thin sliver of fresh ginger, finely chopped or pinch of ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

Put all the ingredients into a saucepan over a high heat. Bring to a boil, lower heat and simmer uncovered for about 30 minutes or until the lentils are soft and have absorbed nearly all the water.

For a fancier dish, add 1 sweet pepper, seeds removed.

Let cool and serve to baby as is or puree for a smoother texture. For older babies, serve with naan.

Baby Dhal served with okra and cauliflower.

I made pureed carrots, okra, peas and applesauce (with cinnamon – mmmmm!) and hope to add some spinach to the stash, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Food & Meal Planning

One response to “Baby Dhal

  1. Wow! I’m impressed! That sounds like a fab recipe… I don’t think I could inflict okra on my child tho. LOL!

Leave a Reply

