2010 Goals Final Update

1. Keep the kitchen under control. Specifically, the dishes. I’m not fooling anyone by promising to have all the dishes done at the end of the day. There will always be a few dirty dishes in the sink, but I can do a lot better.

Um, no. We don’t have a dishwasher and doing the dishes by hand, I found to keep up I had to wash dishes at least three times a day, which would have been fine if there were a safe place for Adam to play – and play happily – while I washed. I have time to do dishes when Thomas is home in the evenings and watches Adam while I make dinner and after Adam has gone to bed. Excuses, excuses, the answer is: fail.

2. Ditto, the laundry. This will become crucial once the baby arrives, especially with cloth diapers.

Not perfect but I did OK, considering the cloth diapers were added to our usual mess. I didn’t change our bed linens as often as I would have liked and our laundry hamper was always full. But when I worked, I didn’t do laundry until we had nothing else to wear and you couldn’t see the hamper under the surrounding piles.

3. Food inventory. Getting the old stuff eaten and having meals in mind, ready to make. I’ve gotten much better at this since I left my job. But again, I can do better.

Again, not perfect but I did OK, some months better than others. I am certainly more mindful of what we have, what we need to use and following through and using it.

4. Continue my good work at organizing our home, purging the junk and minimizing the intake.

Organizing is slow going and ongoing but I think I’ve minimized the intake of more stuff. I try to be more mindful of what we buy/accept/collect and have managed to clear some things out.

5. Continue my yarn diet – no new yarn until I make a substantial dent in my yarn stash. This could take a while. And finish those projects that have been sadly neglected.

I wish I had more time to knit this year. When I did knit, I used what I had including the yarn I used for Thomas’ and Adam’s Christmas stockings.

6. Work on my sewing. I’m terrible, just terrible. But I want to be good. I have so many projects in mind, but become frustrated when my technical skills let me down. It doesn’t help when your husband is so much better at sewing. I’ve been working on a felt teddy bear for months, while he can make vestments for Lent through next Christmas in a weekend. But it’s not a competition. Mostly.

Big. Fat. Fail. I didn’t even take the sewing machine out. Boo.

7. Make better purchasing choices every day. Some days I rock. Other days, not so much. I’d like to be more consistent about spending our money, especially since I am responsible for most of our purchases (groceries, household, etc.).

Again, not perfect but a lot better than we were. I don’t pay full price for most things and I have a good idea about when something is a deal and when it’s not.

8. Save. Even when we have nothing. I know it is possible. Besides our car can’t live forever, our house is old and our cat is elderly – I see big expenses on the horizon.

Another big fat fail. Though we’ve already started saving half of any extra income which is my plan for 2011 and in December, we’ve managed to save $250.

9. Make a little extra to pay for my online classes. I’d like to take two courses this year, which will cost about $1500. This is not something I want to take out of the household budget.

While I didn’t make any money, we found out that Thomas’ employer would cover some of the cost of his conference. Since we saved the money for the conference, we’re using the refund to pay (in part) for a course for me. I started the course at the beginning of December.

10. Dent our debt. Despite our expenses, our current debt and the challenges of the next year, I don’t want to owe more this time next year.

We spent a third of our income on debt repayment and I can’t say that we’re very far along.

I’m disappointed about how I did this year. A lot of goals were made harder as we adjusted to parenthood and specifically parenting a baby who doesn’t sleep very much or very well. Sleep deprivation has taken its toll but I need to keep trying despite my fatigue because I don’t think Adam is going to ever be a great sleeper and my goals (especially financial goals) are critical for us to move forward.

Check back tomorrow for 2011 goals!

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Food & Meal Planning, Frugal Living, Knitting Fiend, Organizing & Arranging, Work of the House

One response to “2010 Goals Final Update

  1. Life is SOO hard with a new baby, i’ve been there, done that 4x. I would give yourself a break and start fresh for 2011. Especially with a baby that doesn’t sleep.. took my oldest years to sleep…was brutal, so I feel your pain. ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

