I’m A 9 Year Old Boy

I would love to add a little extra to our income. Heck, I’d love to add A LOT. I feel that I’ve stretched our budget as much as I can but we need to stretch a little further. I’ve thought a lot about how I can contribute to our income but haven’t come up with any great answers.

Thomas’ schedule is hectic and unpredictable. There’s no way we could make part time job hours work with that schedule. Clearly, we’re not going to pay someone to watch Adam so I can work. Even if I could find a traditional job in our tiny community, it isn’t practical. Or possible.

This week I saw an ad in our local paper for adult newspaper carriers. The three streets on the route are right behind our house. When the weather is good (dry and not obscenely cold), Adam and I walk that route every day. And the newspaper delivery is just one day a week. I called the paper and found out that they pay by the paper and this particular route will pay just over $35 a month.

At first, I wondered if it was worth it. Then I thought of what $35 can buy:

  • 36 litres of milk
  • 35 pounds of apples
  • 14 pounds of ground beef
  • 4 kilograms of cheddar cheese
  • 276 eggs
  • 211 rolls of toilet paper

If you’re frugal, $35 can go a long way. I can make that money walking an hour a week, which I would be doing anyway. And I can do it with Adam in tow. I make an effort to collect, trade and use coupons and store points which saves us between $30 and $60 a month. I do online surveys which pay about $1 each and paid for most of our Christmas and birthday presents last year. Delivering papers while I’m out is just another way I can make our budget stretch a little bit more.

Join The Saved Quarter Challenge!

6 Comments

Filed under Frugal Living, Money Saving Monday

6 responses to “I’m A 9 Year Old Boy

  1. Good for you! You get exercise and make some extra money. Plus, all these small ways to make money can add up!

  2. To make a little extra cash, I babysit for abut 8 hours a week. I’m able to bring the little one and it doubles as a great play date for the kids.

    Doing a paper route is a great way to make a little extra cash.

    http://www.thesimplefamilyproject.blogspot.com

  3. Great way to make some extra money and it is amazing what the $35.00 can do to help the budget. Great job

  4. Just found your blog today and I’m enjoying it. Good for you! Every dollar counts 🙂

  5. Good for you! I too have thought about inquiring about being a delivery person for the local paper in my neighbourhood. I see a lot of older people (way older than 9 year old boys ;)) delivering currently! They even have homemade carts strapped onto the back of their bikes and they just reach behind the seat and throw the paper onto the lawn! LOL

    When mat leave is up with baby #2 then I am going to seriously consider this too. My husband works unpredictable hours as well hence our decision to have me quit my job after our daughter was born.

    Looking forward to reading how your paper route goes.

  6. That’s great! 🙂 And even better that you can bring Adam with you!

Leave a Reply

