Election Day

I mentioned on a previous Money Saving Monday that I had applied to work on election day. I applied through the Elections Canada website and never heard back. Our church is one of the polling stations and last week Thomas mentioned to one of our parishioners that I had applied. This man had worked the elections for years and offered to make a call. Fifteen minutes later, Elections Canada called me! The only position left was a stand-by (being available in case someone couldn’t work that day). But the three hours of training paid $35 and I would be on the list for this year and future elections.

I did my training on Thursday, which Thomas was able to take off so that he would be with Adam. I found out I was stand-by #9 and though I was 1 of 2 people who spoke French, I didn’t think I would be called.

Lucky me – they called at 8:10 on Election Day and I was at my polling station by 8:40. I think being able to speak French helped bump me up the list because I was the Designated Interpreter as well as a Deputy Returning Officer. It was a long day but it was fun to hand ballots to 18 year olds or new Canadians voting for the first time. It was interesting being part of the process. I missed Adam terribly, though Thomas very gallantly brought some coffee and donuts to me and my work partner and I was able to sneak in a quick baby cuddle.

Thomas was able to drop me off (the polling station was about 30 minutes away) but Adam was in bed by the time I was done at 10:45. I called a taxi, which cost $40. Yikes!

For the training and Election Day, I made $239.33. Minus the taxi, I made just under $200. The money was destined for paying off a credit card but earlier this month, I made a bone-head mistake and we paid our allotted $300 onto the card TWICE. So the money will go back into our household budget. It amounts to the same thing (once we’ve made an extra $100 to cover the rest).

I hope everyone had a good Election Day. Whatever your feelings about the outcome, I think it can be said that it was certainly an interesting result.

2 Comments

Filed under Money Saving Monday

2 responses to “Election Day

  1. That’s great that you were able to make some extra cash!! 🙂 Cabs are SO expensive! I hate taking them! Eek!

  2. I actually was thinking that it would be an interesting thing to do…

    And the election was interesting this time around. I actually found myself much more engaged than I ever have been before.

Leave a Reply

