On My Nightstand

Mrs. Gamgee over at Hobbit-ish Thoughts and Ramblings is talking about books having a season. I read To Kill A Mockingbird every summer and The Little House series every winter. This summer, like every summer, I read a lot of Canadian fiction. One of my favourite authors is Constance Beresford-Howe. A lot of her books are out of print but easily found at used book sales.

This year I read these plus another I found at the library, A Serious Widow (not an affliated link).

Even though we have enough books in our house to start our own library, it doesn’t stop me from browsing our local library (at least) once a week. This week I came home with this:

The history of European royalty in the Middle Ages is fascinating. I love the petty squabbles, the ridiculous vanity and the royal marriages that are abysmal failures. Ah, the more things change…

2 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Library Finds

2 responses to “On My Nightstand

  1. I just posted my reading list yesterday… Hopefully I’ll make a dent in it soon! There’s a new Hobbit movie coming out in 2012… excited to see it! 🙂

  2. Woo hoo! Thanks for joining in!

    I really do believe in the seasons for certain books. And I think it may have contributed to me strongly disliking most books that I had to read in school. I need to go back and re-read some of those books (like ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’) and see if they are more intriguing now.

Leave a Reply

