Using It Up

Since we’ve become a one-income family, we’ve cut back our spending a lot. We need to think about everything we buy. As we all know, little things add up.

And we live in a tiny house with very little storage so I’ve done my best to get rid of clutter, which hasn’t been easy as we are a cluttery couple.

I was thinking about all the things I haven’t needed to buy because a) we already had it or b) we had something that would do. In the last two years, I’ve used up, found an alternative or found for free and I haven’t bought:

  • shampoo/conditioner, face wash, moisturizer, bar soap, lip balm
  • gift wrap, bows, gift tags
  • socks, sweaters
  • yarn
  • pencil, pens, markers, paper, notebooks, envelopes, glue
  • candles, picture frames, blankets, sheets, anything for the kitchen (we have a tiny kitchen!)
  • DVDs, books, CDs, magazines
  • winter coats, mittens, hats, scarves

Are you using up and making do?

2 Comments

Filed under Frugal Living, Organizing & Arranging

2 responses to “Using It Up

  1. That’s great!! My list isn’t nearly as extensive as yours.. I do reuse gift wrap, bags, etc… I’m really focusing in reducing food waste this year… I’m sick of tossing out food! Food costs are going up this year as well, so this will help in the long run!

  2. I totally agree with reducing food waste! It’s actually part of the reason why couponing is so hard for me to get into. I grew up with my Mom and I menu planning every week, and I plan my grocery shopping around that (coupons are so random). I take what I have in the pantry into consideration, but I rarely have a whole lot of left over stuff in the pantry because I only buy what I am planning to use that week.

    I have found Pinterest a great source of ideas for keeping costs down and organizing things in ways that I will be able to reuse, or at least get the most out of what I spend our money on. One of my biggest frustrations was never knowing what was in our freezer because I can’t reach to the bottom (the joys of being a hobbit). I now have an inventory on the outside of my freezer that gets updated with a dry erase pen every time we take stuff out. Now I know exactly what I have in the way of meats, veggies, and baked goods, so things don’t sit for ages and get freezer burned. And I don’t double buy items I already have.

Leave a Reply

